Voyager Internet new sponsor for national media awards

New Zealand internet provider Voyager will take over as naming-rights sponsor for the 2018 national media awards. The Voyager Media Awards will continue to promote excellence in journalism across newspapers, magazines and websites, including TV and radio.

Voyager Internet’s CEO Seeby Woodhouse said he was excited to be involved with the awards and with an industry that used new technology creatively to reach a wider audience in a rapidly evolving digital world.

“The internet has played a major role in making news accessible in real-time, anywhere at any time,” Woodhouse said. “The media awards are a natural fit for Voyager which has been on its own evolutionary path after being named New Zealand’s fastest growing company in 2014, to now becoming a maturing business in a competitive space.”

Canon New Zealand, the naming sponsors for the past seven years, and a supporting sponsor for many years before that, will remain a supporting sponsor for the photographic and videography categories.

Awards director Jane Phare said with nearly 70 categories, 60 judges and more than 2100 entries, the awards were complex to run and the support of sponsors was vital.

“We are delighted Voyager has come on board. Voyager Internet sees itself as part of a fast-changing industry that affects the lives of everyday New Zealanders, much like members of the news media view their own industry,” she said.

“A new naming sponsor and contributions from supporting sponsors means the awards are in good shape.”

Now in their 45th year, the awards are run by the Newspaper Publishers’ Association (NPA), and cover newspapers, magazines, and websites/digital including radio and TV. Several new categories have been introduced, reflecting changes in the way news is packaged and delivered. Entries on the Award Force website will open this week.

The Voyager Media Awards’ gala dinner will be held on Friday May 11, 2018, at Cordis, Auckland (formerly The Langham).

Further information can be found at the Voyager Awards Website: